New VMware Advanced Certifications announced

VMware Education has announced their new VMware Certified Advanced Professional (VCAP) Certification specialties VCAP4-Datacenter Administrator (VCAP4-DCA) and VCAP4-Datacenter Design (VCAP4-DCD).

VMware Certified Advanced Professional 4 -Datacenter Administration (VCAP4-DCA)
The VCAP-DCA is directed toward System Administrators, Senior Consultants and Technical Support Engineers who work with large and more complex virtualized environments and can demonstrate technical leadership with vSphere technologies. Successful candidates are able to use automation tools, to plan and design virtualized solutions and to administer all vSphere Enterprise components. Registration opens July 12. Learn more about this VCAP specialty.

VMware Certified Advanced Professional 4-Datacenter Design (VCAP4-DCD)
The VCAP-DCD is directed toward IT Architects and Consulting Architects who design VMware solutions in a multi-site, large enterprise environment. They have a deep understanding both of VMware core components and their relation to storage and networking as well as datacenter design methodologies. They also possess knowledge of applications and physical infrastructure, as well as their relationship to the virtual infrastructure. Registration opens in August. Learn more about this VCAP specialty.

Advanced Courses Created to help you Achieve Your New Certification Goals
VMware has designed several courses to help VCPs ramp their skills in preparation for VCAP certification exams.

VCAP-DCA Recommended Training
VMware vSphere: Troubleshooting [V4]
VMware vSphere: Manage for Performance [V4]

VCAP-DCD Recommended Training
VMware vSphere: Design Workshop [V4]

I have participated in “Train the Trainer” versions of each of the three courses listed above and heartily recommend them. Even if you do not anticipate pursuing advanced certification, these courses will greatly enhance your virtualization skills. If you later decide to pursue the advanced VMware credentials, you will be well on your way. These new specialties follow on after the VMware Certified Professional 4 (VCP4) exam and define the prerequisites along the path to VMware Certified Design Expert 4 (VCDX4) VMware premier certification. For more information on the VCDX4 Certification follow this link.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s